Search This Blog

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Omotola Beats Genevieve, Funke Akindele To Win Screen Nations Award

Nollywood star actress Omotola Jalade-
Ekeinde might not have made the Forbes list
of Top 40 Most Influential Celebrities in
Africa like her rival Genevieve Nnaji did but
will certainly be delighted to know that she
has won the award for ‘Favourite West
African Actress’ at the 2011 edition of the
Screen Nation Film and Television Awards.

Omosexy edged out Nigerian actors Funke
Akindele, Genevieve Nnaji, Mercy Johnson,
and her Ghanaian counterparts Jackie
Appiah and Ama K Abebrese.

The awards which took place on Sunday,
October 16, 2011 was held at the IndigoO2
and was hosted by Angellica Bell and
Michael Underwood.

Past recipients of awards include Hollywood
legends Morgan Freeman and Danny Glover.

Check out the full list of winner below…

Male Performance in Film – Clint Dyer

Female Performance in Film – Thandie

Male Performance in TV – Nonso Anozie

Female Performance in TV – Wunmi

Favourite Male TV Star – Arinze Kene

Favourite Female TV Star – Tameka

Emerging Talent – La Charne Jolly

Young Shooting Star – Daniel Kaluuya

Comedy Performer – Andy Osho

Diversity in Factual Production – Saving
Africa’s Witch Children

Diversity in Drama Production – Luther

Favourite Urban Movie – Anuvahood

Favourite Music Video Performance – Tinie

Independent Spirit Film Production – Obi

Achievement in Cinematic Direction –
Thomas Ikimi

International Film – Why Did I Get Married

US Screen Personality Male – Tyler Perry

US Screen Personality Female – Monique

Best West African Film – The Mirror Boy

Favourite West African Action – Miajid

Favourite West African Actress – Omotola

The Screen Nation Foundation comprises of
black British film and television
professionals from all within the UK
including actors, writers, directors and
producers. Designed to empower and
encourage diversity with the motion picture
and audio-visual industries, The Foundation
primarily agrees on the annual list of
categories and nominees via a committee

No comments:

Post a Comment